Douglas C.S. Athletics Report


The final of the 1st year Cross-Country League was held recently in the grounds of the school. There were two race an ‘A’ race and a ‘B’ race. The ‘B’ race was won by Sam O’ Connell in a fantastic time of 4.02 with Cillian Crowley 2nd and Dylan Rogers 3rd. The ‘A’ race proved to be a very exciting race, with the top 10 from each of the four 1st year classes racing each other. The winner was Emmett Bracken breaking the course record in the process with a time of 3.17. Mark McCtighe equaled the old course record in 2nd place with 3.22 and Andrew O’ Keeffe running very well for 3rd place. Others to run well were Brian Desmond, Brian McCauliffe and Patrick O’ Sullivan. Irish Senior International athletes Robert Heffernan and Colin Griffin presented the medals. Well done to all who competed. A special congratulations also to Douglas CS athlete Brian Murray who received 12 A’s in his Junior Cert results recently.