The Young Scientist


young scientists

This year there are twenty seven students involved in the young scientist
award in the school. There are nine teams of three. Douglas Community
School has been involved in the competition since the 1970’s. In 1991
Douglas had a winner Mark Andrews. In recent years we have had a number of
category award winners. Half the students entered get to go to Dublin for
the week.

This year Douglas are entering projects on things such as cancer
treatment, seeds found on the seashore, affects of microwaving food,
sudoku, stick insects and CSI. The teachers involved are Mr O’Mahony and Ms
Barrett. The students involved are

Chris Moriarty
Daniel O’Sullivan
David Lane
Kieran Gleeson
Andrew Murtagh
Stephen Neville
Darren Johnston
Brian Nolan
Jason Murphy
Garnett Kidney
Paul O’Driscoll
Cillian Bracken
Ayman Hafez
Alan Smith
Aidan Murphy
Aaron Noonan
Jack Casey
Ferdia Dwane
Cian Fitzpatrick
Finbarr Murphy
Anthony Meaney
Shane Hamilton
David O’Connell