St. Lucia Douglas Community School Scholarships


Hello. My name is Deus Lambert and I am 16 years old. I live in Canaries, a small fishing village in St. Lucia in the West Indies. I am a first year trainee in the C.A.R.E. centre in Anse la Raye. After primary school, my family did not have the money to send me to any secondary school. That was very sad for me as I was very good at Mathematics and Language in the primary.

My mother is a widow (my father died last year after having a drug problem for many years) and I have 3 brothers and 2 sisters so life for my family is not very easy. This is all the more difficult because in St. Lucia, like most of the developing world, there is no dole or other forms of social welfare. I love football and my favourite player is Ronaldino. My favourite subject in the C.A.R.E. school is Language. My favourite foods are mango, apple and banana.

I am very grateful to the children in Douglas Community School for providing me with the sponsorship to pursue my studies in Carpentry next year. Thankyou.


Hi there. My name is Shellon Wilson and I am 15 years old. I am from Guyana in South America but I came to live in St. Lucia in August 2007 because my mother was getting too old to work in the goldmines back home. Now she is growing vegetables here and sells them in the local market at the weekend. My father is still working in the goldmines which are in the Guyanese interior jungle and can only be reached by boat or by small plane. Conditions in the mines are not very safe and often both my parents would be gone for many weeks while we stayed with cousins. I have 3 brothers and 9 sisters.

I like it here in St. Lucia but I miss my friends in Guyana. I don’t know when I will ever see them again. I am very happy in the C.A.R.E. centre and have started to make St. Lucian friends now. Unfortunately, I cannot read or write well but I will still be able to do the Catering skill next year. I love cooking creole food and all of the dishes that are local to the Tropics. My favourite foods are mango, banana, chow mein and fried rice. My mother and myself are so happy that Douglas Community School are helping me to do Catering next year. If you come and visit, I will cook you a nice local meal.


Greetings from St. Lucia,

My name is Nile Abraham and I am 18 years old. Like, many of my classmates in the CARE school, I was not lucky enough to get into secondary school after I finished at the primary. As a result, I went to work as a builder’s labourer. But the work was very long, doing 60 hours a week for about €2500 a year. In a country where the supermarket prices are similar to those in Ireland, it is very difficult to survive on this money, especially as I have nine brothers and three sisters. I am the third eldest. My mother is a shop-assistant and earns less than I did. In order to give myself and my family a better shot at life, I have come to the CARE school to train to be a carpenter. The teachers say I’m very mature, because I’m that bit older. Some of the children in my class are only thirteen, although some are in their early twenties.

I love cricket and football. My favourite sportsperson is Ronaldo. I am a striker for the Babaneau Boogies. I also love gospel music and am learning the drums at the moment. I am really grateful to the boys in Douglas Community School for giving me the chance to pursue my career in carpentry. A big thank you to you all from the sunny Caribbean.


Hi, I’m Edward Herman and I live in Gros Islet, fishing and tourist village in the island-nation of St. Lucia in the West Indies. I am 15 years old and have five brothers and one sister. Unfortunately, because I cannot read or write, I was not allowed to go to the secondary schools here. So, for a few years, I was just ‘limeing’ which is just hanging by the beach. This can get some of the children in a lot of trouble with the police so I started hanging out in a bodyshop where they fix up old cars. I love cars and came to the CARE school to train to be a mechanic. At the weekends, I sell coconuts on the beach and catch octopuses and sell them to my neighbours. My mother is a widow since last summer so I try to help her as much as possible, buying chicken or soap with the money I get at the beach. I loved my Dad so much and he was always making me laugh but one night last July, he didn’t come home after having a few rums with his friends at the beach. The following day, we found his body on the beach. I cried and cried when I saw him, but nothing will bring him back, I know.

My favourite food is macaroni and cheese and apples. I love swimming and football. The boys in Douglas Community School are very kind to sponsor me for the skills programme for next year. I’ll work hard to become a good mechanic. Mr. Cian is always telling me about Ireland. Maybe some day I’ll get to come and visit.