Douglas C.S “Mad” Scientists


This year Douglas Community School competed yet again in the BT Young Scientist Competition! They had a large number of entrants totalling an impressive twenty one students. These included fourth, fifth and sixth years but the majority of the students were in third year.

From third year we had David Broughal, Brian Nolan, Cillian Brachen, Jack Casey, Ronan Doyle, Ferdia Dwane, Kieran Gleeson, Garret Kidney, David Lane, Chris Morarty, Jason Murphy, Andrew Murtagh, Steven Neville, Aaron Noonan and Darren Johnston. Our fourth years included Ayman Hafez, Daniel O Sullivan, and Aidan Murphy. These three students were highly commended with their efforts in studying the effects of microwaving and the quality of food.

The fifth and sixth years were also highly commended for studying the use of genetic technology in the treatment of cancer and were awarded the Marie Keating Special Award. Their names are Paul O Driscoll, David O Connell and Finbarr Murphy.

Congratulations to all the entrants.