DCS First Year Cross-Country League


Douglas Community School’s First Year athletes got their first taste of cross-country running recently when the school staged its annual First Year Cross-Country League. The races were held over a 900m loop in the school and the athletes had the added incentive of having Togher Athletic club’s Irish international athletes Robert and Marian Heffernan on hand to present the medals. In the class races the NA1 winner was Barry Forde in 3:37, the NP1 winner was Eric Murphy 3:50, the NE1/NS1 winner was James Gorton 3:29. The ‘A’ and ‘B’ finals produced some outstanding races with three of the athletes making it onto the all-time top ten list of fastest times on the course. The ‘B’ final was won by Daniel Leahy in a hugely impressive time of 3:28, thus becoming the 2010 First Year champion. He was followed in by Gracia Mukwa second and Darragh O’ Brien in third. The ‘A’ final was won by James Gorton 3:29 with Eric Murphy second and Sean Wilson third. Well done to all the athletes who competed.

Steven Macklin